Match Report

Ossett United

Ossett United

(0) 0

Mossley AFC

(0) 0

BetVictor Northern Premier League Game


Saturday 17th August 2019 @ Seel Park

Match Overview

Lilywhites held in Ossett opener

Report by Ray Moreland


Mossley opened the new season at Infield, Ossett on Saturday on a bright sunny day that contributed to the stalemate that then ensued.


Mossley began slowly and for the first twenty minutes were second best. On two minutes ex Mossley man Elliot Harrison had what turned out to be the home side’s best chance of the game when he headed over from close range. The chance had been created Andy Ijiwole who was proving to be real threat.


Gradually Mossley got into the game and it turned into a sterile battle with each side canceling each other out and neither showing any great creativity.


The game had 0-0 written on it but with five minutes left came Mossley’s chance to win the game. Substitute Ben Halfacre turned well in the box and fired against a post and the rebound was put narrowly wide by Adam Morgan. Had it gone in there would have been little justice as neither side had done enough to win the game.


The 90 minutes had proved turgid fayre devoid of any real goalmouth incident for the 413 spectators. At the end it would have been the away dressing room that was the happier.


Whether this was a good point will be determined by future events and maybe we will not know until the end of next April.


Mossleyweb Man of the Match: Adam Jones

Team Line-ups

Mossley AFC


1. Dylan Forth
2. Ben Richartdson
3. Steve Mason
4. Craig Roddan
5. Adam Jones
6. Declan Evans
7. Nicky Platt
8. Simon Lenighan
9. Ryan Brooke (c)
16. Adam Morgan
11. Paul Marshall




12. Chiekh Thiam (unused)
13. Joel Fletcher (unused)
14. Max Leonard (for 11 – 76)
15. Ben Halfacre (for 7 – 70)
16. Godwin Abadaki (for 9 – 90)

Yellow cards: Roddan, Lenighan


Ossett United


1. Brett Souter
2. Ryan Toulson
3. Chris Chantler
4. Reece Staunton
5. James Knowles (c)
6. Jack Stockdill
7. Elliott Harrison
8. Andy Monkhouse
9. Andy Ijiwole
10. Damian Reeves
11. Luke Porritt




12. Marko Basic (unused)
14. Corey Gregory (for 7 – 87)
15. Nick Guest (for 6 – 74)
16. Panos Katsamagkas (for 9 – 83)
17. Elliot Lighthowler (unused)

Yellow cards: none

Want more information?

For a more detailed roundup of the Mossley AFC team including more in-depth player and management profiles, match reports and stats, please visit our sister site Mossleyweb